Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A dream of mine is to visit Turkey.  To experience the beauty and history seen around… to cross off a place from my “places to see / Countries to visit before I die” list… to visit the only city that is part of TWO (2) continents! etc. and this year’s travel plans included there!… For the first time it was really really considered.. In fact, the plan was to be there, exploring and visiting, in about 1 1/2 months from now…

Travel plans with my parents this year meant we were to pass through Turkey, on the way to our official destination.  And as we were already passing through, the idea is to fulfil my dream and experience some of the country…

But with Turkey in the news every week recently… be it the present migrant crisis or the Kurdish militant or IS attacks, including this morning’s bombing in a Tourist street of Istanbul,  when should I make the decision and maybe consider elsewhere for the rest of my travel time?

My parents are getting older. I’m sure my mum is freaking out, although, to be honest, she hasn’t voiced it yet. My dad, who I’ve mentioned before has a similar travel style to me… even he is wondering, questioning our travel plans… sigh

Part of me wants to be stubborn and say:
“you guys go ahead to Country X or to Country Y, while I’ll stay and explore Turkey by myself” while another part says that
“this is a family trip… how can I end the trip just so [if I decide to keep my travel plans]…” and then another,
“my parents ARE getting older, let’s get peace of mind and not tempt fate.. and I’ll travel to Turkey another time…”

Just yesterday I was talking with a friend about the upcoming trip as well as everything that’s going on over there… and I made a comment, that don’t worry, we’ll be fine… and that if anything, I’m sure we’ll get a sign “not to go”… is this my “sign”??

Of course I’m upset and concerned about everything that’s going on over there… I’ve been trying to read and understand the who’s and the why’s... and the situation is heartbreaking… but then part of me is just very disappointed…

In reality, any Country we choose to go to, we could be in danger. Did you every consider Paris to be the target of a series of attacks? Or even participation in the Boston Marathon, to be a threat? I could even step outside my own home and be targeted… I could be walking through a busy street, be sitting on a train, or a plane, minding my own business…

Both the UK & US Government travel advisories still mainly warn against travelling to the SouthEast border of Turkey (the shared border with Syria). We weren’t planning to be on that side of the country but instead visit other parts in the country. We even decided not to visit the Capital City of Ankara, mainly because we only had a week to spare and just a small part because of the recent attacks there… but visiting Istanbul is a must. That’s part of the dream etc… [I’ll continue to monitor the travel advisories, of course…]

I know decisions need to be made… but I’m so torn…*sigh*…

So I’m putting it out there and asking…

How do you make the decision to change travel plans?

