Tags

, , , , , ,

OK! So I’m a little ashamed to admit this… but I didn’t really know what the saying, or term, “Rabbit, Rabbit, Rabbit” meant, until now that is… I mean, I’ve heard it many times before… but usually from people who really really love animals… some of these people even have (or had) pet rabbits… so I never thought anything of it… never! *covers face*

But someone at the doctor’s office this morning, whom I’ve never met before, said it (what I thought was) to me while greeting me, and I so of course now I’m kinda curious. 

Turns out that this saying an old English / British / European superstition originating maybe in the 15th century? maybe?…. (which now makes this even worse that I had no idea about this, doesn’t it? as it was never a tradition from my “English-side-of-the-family”…. hmmmm? I mean, I know that we grew up not really believing in the superstitious stuff, but still…. Note-to-self: have a chat with the mother!).

According to the numerous sites online, repeating “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” or “rabbits, rabbits, rabbits” or even “white rabbits, white rabbits, white rabbits” (and many other variations to do with rabbits) on the first of each month, as the first words you utter out loud, will “ensure good luck for the duration of that month”. And if you remembered to say it at the beginning of the year, the first thing on January 1st, then it’s good luck for you, for the whole year!! (Wikipedia).

Hmmmm…..

But why rabbits? Why would they bring you luck? According to an article by Dana Harper on waypastnormal.blogspot.com:

…One [of the many] explanation has to do with their ability to jump, and it’s the reason some folks carry a rabbit’s foot – it represents leaping into the future and moving forward in life…

Oooohhhh, I like that! 🙂 We all need that positivity in our lives! 😉
And Yes! I’ve heard of the luck of a rabbit’s foot. I know of that superstition, although the one I was given as a child, I believe by my grandparent’s neighbours, really didn’t smell too good (so it was rarely carried around with me…)

Anyways! According to this other article by Matthew Treadwell on www.todayifoundout.com:

…According to Celtic folklore, the fact that rabbits lived in burrows deep underground meant that they were in direct communication with the gods and spirits of the underworld…

And that rabbit foot that’s supposed to be good luck? Well it apparently can’t just be any rabbit’s foot. According to another Wikipedia page (and again a variety of other places), there are certain criteria that have to be fulfilled to ensure that the said rabbit’s foot is lucky:

1) Has to be the left, back foot
2) The rabbit must have been killed (e.g. shot maybe even with a silver bullet) or captured in a cemetery
3) The phase of the moon may also be important. Some say when there’s a full moon, and others say when a new moon is sited. 
4) Some say it has to be on a Friday, or Friday the 13th 
5) and some say the foot has to be cut off while the rabbit is alive. 

Ummmm…. well… I guess if we see anyone in a cemetery, on a Friday night, especially if it’s the 13th of the month, that happens to be a full moon, we’ll now know why?

Wait! So now I’m wondering if that rabbit’s foot I was given was really a real one?? Oh no! Poor Thumper! *sniff* 😦

Okay, again there are many versions of the reasoning behind these different superstitions… but it’s interesting what you can find out if you really listen. *lol*

Did you grown up knowing this tradition? What have you heard about the reasons why? Please share, I would love to know 🙂

