Tags

, , , , ,

Did you know that there really is a thing called the Procrastination Cycle? It’s a thing *lol*. I honestly didn’t realise this… but to be honest, I’m glad that I’m not the only one who has problems with this… otherwise it wouldn’t really be a “thing”, would it?

I mentioned in a previous post that I took one (1) step (of I’m sure thousands) towards stopping this event cycle… when I finally committed to buying a new car this month. After clicking “Publish”, I went online and came across many little fun cartoons, including these ones below, expressing the stages of procrastination:

Right-Mood-for-a-Procrastinator1

In addition, there are so many websites talking about it, the signs and stages of this cycle and how to eventually fight to break it… so many!

Some of the basic pointers are:
1) Make a to-do list
2) Work on the hardest item first
3) Schedule time periods (even a series of short ones) when you focus on said task only..
4) Think of the feeling you’ll get once you complete task..
etc…

And I know it’s all things that we already know! but may delay in actioning sometimes… I do know that for me, once I become aware that the act is occurring, I do try to make some sort of efforts to break it.. or attempt to… and usually do succeed… after a while… *covers eyes*…

Even with this personal space of mine, I always seem to catch myself wanting to procrastinate, wanting to wait, wanting to put off… and I know for me, it has a lot to do with self doubt and lack of confidence… or me telling myself “I really want to post, but I really want to sit down and compose myself first… with no distractions etc, then the time never comes or the no distractions part doesn’t seem to happen“… Or even, “I have this idea… but what if it’s a stupid idea?… what would people think?” sigh… But I am working on trying to fight this cycle… and at least attempt to begin.. to re-read and to dispel some of this doubt within me…

I’m working on that, and I’m working on me! 🙂

You can read more about the Procrastination Cycle and ways to “break this cycle” in detail here in these examples, and throughout the internet:
1) michaelhyatt.com/stop-procrastinating.html
2) lifehack.org/articles/productivity/how-break-the-procrastination-cycle.html
3) essencecoaching.com/661/dont-wait-until-you-feel-like-it-just-get-started/

What do you do to break this cycle? Share with us below.

