Tags

, , ,

While ‘surfing the internet’, I came across this recipe on Food.com for Lasagna Cupcakes. In the example pictures these savory “cupcakes” looked so cute delicious and appealing, I thought, why not?  😉

Now, you all KNOW that I’m not a cook, but one of the items on last year’s challenge list (2013) was “No. 10: Host a Dinner Party – where I cook“. I unfortunately did not complete that item, but I have been trying my hand at different recipes, for when the time comes up… and it will… I’ll have something to share with my little party.

Anyways… back to the “cupcakes”…
There are many versions of the idea, but the recipe I found, uploaded by KT~Lynn, can be found here at Food.com: Lasagna Cupcakes

I however did make a couple of changes… I substituted the “meat sauce” with a veggie soya mince, zesty pasta sauce (prepackaged), mushrooms, carrots, onions, garlic etc., mixture. It’s the exact sauce we do for Veggie Spaghetti Bolognese, one of my favourite home-cooked meals.   🙂
You can, of course use whatever ‘style’ and flavouring of the sauce you choose.

I found Eggless Wonton wrappers in the local Chinese Supermarket but regular ones were also available. Honestly, I don’t know if it would have made a big difference… There were however only square ones (not round) available, but it still worked as I found a square muffin pan to work with! 😀

When at the Supermarket yesterday, I was unable to find plain Mozzarella cheese and Ricotta Cheese (clearly I went to a very limited store, but I wasn’t in the mood to visit another one lol) but I did find the mixed packs of already grated cheese, which would include six different types of cheese, including Mozzarella and Parmesan.

Anyways.. lining each ‘muffin’ holder with a wonton skin, and starting the layering process with a small amount of the cheese mix, a spoonful of the veggie sauce then a topping of cheese mix, the little beauties were created.

With the oven set for 375oF and the timer set for 20mins, we excitedly sat back and waited to be able to taste the final product.

I made some with one layer and some with two layers (with a second wanton skin) but besides tasting fuller, there wasn’t much of a difference except in appearance. The cheese on the one-layer versions, became crispier than the two-layer ones…

Anyways, there’s still some “mastering” to be done, and the presentation may not be the best, but so far the consensus is that they do taste Yum!! Yay!! 😀

Lasagna minis/cupcakes before being put into oven

Lasagna minis/cupcakes before being put into oven

Lasagna minis/cupcakes finished product

Lasagna minis/cupcakes finished product

Did you come across any new recipes this weekend? Did you try any of them? How did they turn out?

Let us know 🙂 🙂

