Tags

, , , ,

I came across this video the other day of the Actor Jim Carrey giving a Commencement Address at a University in Iowa (Maharishi University of Management) and it peaked my interest. 

Now, I do like Jim Carrey and his (sometimes weird) sense of humour… not all his movies, but I do enjoy him :). So hearing he gave some speech had me curious to hear what he had to say…

The words of advice don’t really start until around the 9:30 marker, but it’s a kinda funny and interesting listen, if you have 25 minutes to spare…

Some of the points made by Jim Carrey, that jumped out to me throughout the video, were as follows:

3:39     “Life doesn’t happen to you; it happens for you

10:11   “Now Fear is going to be a player in your life. But you get to decide how much. You can spend your whole life imagining ghosts, worrying about the pathway to the future, but all there will ever be is what’s happening here; and the decisions we make in this moment which are based in either love or fear.

11:40     “…you can fail at what you don’t want [to be doing], so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.”

15:55     “your need for acceptance can make you invisible in this world. Don’t let anything stand in the way of the light that shines through this form. Risk being seen in all of your glory.”

19:46     “My soul is NOT contained within the limits of my body; my body is contained within the limitlessness of my soul.

23:22       “…it’s just about letting the universe know what you want, and working towards it, while letting go of how it comes to pass.

25:06        “…you will only ever have two choices: love or fear. Choose love, and don’t ever let fear turn you against your playful heart.

You can watch the full Commencement Address here: 

Hmmmm… some food for thought…

(Day 7)

