Tags

, ,

This evening the scissors came out and in less than 5 minutes, I completed #13 on my 30 Things for 2013 Challenge! I’ve been procrastinating all year, but could not let another year roll around, without this challenge item completed!

We had a mathematical production going on. My dad with ruler in hand, measuring the before and after, and with my mom’s help, we chopped off 18 inches (in total) length of hair this evening. 16-inches will be to donate the the charity Locks of Love and 2-inches were trimmings on the floor.

According to their website:
Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis…
Most of the children helped by Locks of Love have lost their hair due to a medical condition called alopecia areata, which has no known cause or cure. The
(hair) prostheses we provide help to restore their self-esteem and their confidence, enabling them to face the world and their peers.

I have previously had the opportunity to donate to this organisation (three times, actually) and have looked forward each time I decided to grow my hair, to be able to give again. My last donation (of 12-inches) was given in 2011!

This is the longest length I’ve yet to donate 🙂 🙂

See tonight’s completed challenge proof below:

The Transition: Before and After

The Transition: Before and After

Yes, I know, I know… more could have been cut off this time around, but think of it this way… In about 4-inches more time or so, I’ll have another donation on the way 😉

