Tags

, , , , , ,

I was first introduced to Sushi while studying in Florida. A group of us went to a small Japanese Restaurant in the area, sat comfortably on cushions on the floor, and awaited patiently for our inviter 😉 to place the order for us to have our first try…

He ordered a California Roll and a Mexican Roll, to start… and then I was hooked.

The mixture of the right flavours, being enjoyed by my taste buds as I excitedly practised my chopstick skills was such an experience. We learned how to prepare the soya sauce in advance, placing a little of the wasabi in the mixture and dipping the roll, before the excitement of enjoying the experience…

Ahhh, the memories…

Of course, overtime I’ve realised that not all Sushi rolls or Sushi joints are the same… not all have the same tastes or give off the same vibe…

A California Roll for example, in one place can taste totally different to another location…

The presentation of one type may not even match that of another…

The Sashimi in one joint may taste ‘tough’ and in another, may melt in your mouth giving you a good tingly feeling.

Now, I am not an expert in sushi, nor will I ever claim to be. I will even admit that I have played it very safe when it comes to trying the new flavours… sometimes it’s a hit and sometimes it’s a very big miss!

But I do enjoy a good Sushi dish, as an appetizer or even as a full meal… especially in the company of great friends!  🙂

