Tags

, , , , , ,

Sometime in March, I had read an article on Trinichow.com, about the practice dinners for the T&T National Culinary Team at the Hilton being open for public attendance from March through mid- June, and got very excited.

I thought, why not?
It’s something I’ve never done before, a new experience and an opportunity to participate and meet people, and to taste new styles of food. So I made up my mind that I wanted to attend.

After some procrastination though, I found the number again yesterday morning and decided to give the organisers: the Trinidad Hotels Restaurants and Tourism Association, a call.

Unfortunately they stated that they were booked up, and have been for a while, since seating is limited to 40 persons (competition conditions), but would be more than happy to put me on a waitlist if there were any last minute cancellations. I agreed to this in the hope that something would open, and put my name down for last night and the upcoming weeks to follow.

Around 3:00pm yesterday, I got a call!
There were two last minute cancellations, and do I wanted to take their space. I immediately accepted and got the details. So excitedly I told a friend of mine “we’re going” and we left work early to go get ready!

We arrived at 7:30pm and were seated at a table of 10, with everyone else seemingly previously knowing each other. We politely interacted with comfort levels increasing as the evening went on.

The evening consisted of a descriptive demonstration of the Non-Alcoholic cocktail option, followed by a sample of this same drink. With the interestingly ‘different’ ingredients, this drink was tasty.

This was followed by a pre-appetizer category called ‘The Taste of the Islands’ and then on to our three-course meal (Appetizer, Main Course, Dessert).

We got to ‘score’ and give our opinions of each selection, from taste and portions, to presentation and colours. Like a real food critic! Yes!! Fun yet nerve racking at the same time. *lol*

Because the Culinary Team is preparing for a competition (June 26-30 2013, in Miami), I won’t be sharing the menu and/or ingredients [yet].
But know this: The food was good – the pepper was wow yum! and the experience overall was exciting. I am so so happy we were able to attend. I hope to get the opportunity again in the very near future!

AND! OUR 2013 T&T Culinary Team is a force to be reckoned with!!

Enjoy the pictures below and I look forward to ‘hopefully’ attending next week’s practice event!

Non-Alcoholic Cocktail Option

Non-Alcoholic Cocktail Option

Taste of the Islands (pre-Appetizer)

Taste of the Islands
(pre-Appetizer)

Appetizer

Appetizer

Main Course

Main Course

Dessert

Dessert

For more information on attending, which I highly recommend the experience and giving support for our team, please contact the Trinidad Hotels, Restaurants and Tourism Association via their facebook page, at (868) 634-1174 or email info@tnthotels.com

 

