Tags

,

I had a meeting in Port-of-Spain yesterday evening and then met up with a friend for dinner. We decided on Señor Jalapeños, located on Ariapita Avenue (Woodbrook, Port-of-Spain) as both of us had never visited before.

001 - DSCN3014Located next to Synergy TV Studio, I’ve passed this Mexican grill a couple of times, always wondering if it can match the memories of the Mexican meals I’ve previously had while studying in Florida.

We parked on the Avenue, in front of the building and entered to be greeted with this fun sign, serving not only introduce the eatery, but also to give instructions about how to order.

Menu

Menu

Menu

Menu

To start, you choose what type of meal you desire. Then the meat you are wishing for, followed by the dressings or extras. My friend and I both were excited to have guacamole, being such Zaboca (Avocado) lovers, but unfortunately they were out that night. 😦

Meal components

Meal components   (thanks CJ)

I decided on a Shrimp Quesadilla which came with a side of Rice and Beans and salad, while my friend chose a Chicken Burrito. Our meals each came with bottled water, but we decided to also try the soda that was available: Jackson Hole Soda, in flavours Grand Teton Grape and Outlaw Orange Cream.

Preparation of my Shrimp Quesadilla

Preparation of my Shrimp Quesadilla

Packaged Meals

Packaged Meals

Complimentary Bottles of Water

Complimentary Bottles of Water

Jackson Hole Soda

Jackson Hole Soda

Although there was a small area for seating inside, we decided on the outside option as it was a cool night, with minimal vehicular traffic on Avenue.

Outside Seating Options

Outside Seating Options

Shrimp Quesadilla with Rice and Beans on the side

Shrimp Quesadilla with Rice and Beans on the side

Side of salad

Side of salad

Chicken Burrito

Chicken Burrito

My Quesadilla was delicious but really would have been perfect with the side of Guacamole. The beans were good but I wasn’t a fan of the rice.
My friend’s Burrito was tasty overall but again, the rice for me was a low point… hmmm…

My overall experience visiting Señor Jalapeños was 3.5 out of 5. I do plan to visit again with the hopes of having a complete meal, i.e. my satisfying my Zaboca fix  😉013 - DSCN2997

