Tags

,

I took the day off work today and armed with my camera. decided to take a drive along the North Coast Road to Maracas Bay. I love this drive – one of my favourites that look forward to when visiting this particular beach. Although I live on an island, making it to the beach in recent times, UNFORTUNATELY does not happen as often as I would like it too. This trip was long awaited.

I awoke at my usual time for work and instead of packing the car for work, I packed it with my beach towel, flip flops, sunscreen (gotta protect yourself from the rays) and camera. I jumped in the car and was on my way..

As it was a normal work day for everyone else, I got caught in a little vehicular traffic during the initial part of the drive, but after that it was smooth sailing. The morning air was cool and the beautiful day awaited. I wasn’t planning to stay long at the beach, as this trip really was for the drive that I wanted to enjoy and to just be at the beach.

And that I did get. A perfect drive up though and around the mountains, where the almost empty beach awaited me. I had it all to myself. The sun was shinning, spreading warmth around, The water was at first cold, yet calm and inviting. The birds were still lazing around along the beach. It was calm and serene. Perfect!

I wish I could do this all the time. I am so glad I decided to take this day to enjoy.

Below are some of the captured moments from my excursion. 

I love being a local tourist! [30 Things in 2013]

Enjoy!

The Road Ahead…

The Road Ahead…

View of some of the Islets off the Trinidad North Coast

View of some of the Islets off the Trinidad North Coast

My Favourite View of Maracas Bay

My Favourite View of Maracas Bay

Empty Beach = Peace & Quiet

Empty Beach = Peace & Quiet

Calm Waters

Calm Waters

Calm Waters; Clear Skies..

Calm Waters; Clear Skies..

Maracas Bay Fishing Village

Maracas Bay Fishing Village

Perfection!

Perfection!

