I attended a retirement function this evening for one of our Managers – a greatly admired co-worker. He has worked over 35 years, making his way up the company ladder, creating both friendships and enemies as he went.

After a long evening of reminiscing and given awards, this retiring manager had the opportunity to respond. Many things were said but what caught me and impacted me was this: paraphrasing, he said that everyone’s asking what he is going to do now, as he takes on his retirement.  He’s going to read all the books he keeps putting on his ‘to-read’ list, and travel to the places he’s always wanted to travel to… and all I could think was that yes I am happy for him and I do admire him, but I don’t want to be like that.

I don’t want to wait until I retire to do all the things I want to do what I want, or read the books I want to read. I want to travel the world. To experience all the different aspects of life. To find myself and to be happy.

I know I’m always singing this tune, but hearing what he said this evening, reinforced even more why I am so excited to do the 30 Things in 2013 challenge.

Don’t wait for the future.
Seize the moment.
Do it now!

Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.
~ John Lennon

