Tags

I work in the Southern part of our beautiful island. A co-worker and I were recently having a discussion about the limited choices and varieties of real cuisine that we knew of, that would be easy for a ‘lunch runaway’. After a back and forth discussion, I visited the Trinichow website [which I LOVE checking out their articles, by the way =D] and came across this article: BACCO PIZZERIA ITALIANA (San Fernando, Trinidad)

Having a sudden craving for Pizza and seeing the many reviews of the place, I decided to check it out that lunchtime. Noting that the opening times for lunch were 12pm-3pm (except Wednesdays and Sundays), I left the office promptly at 11:30am (shhh) and made my way to the location hoping to be there as soon as the doors opened.

Now it has to be noted that I did not grow up in South. As my co-workers remind me everyday, I am not a South gyal!

So before I left the office, I searched the location address in Google maps and printed out the directions / a map for where I was hoping to go. I have used Google maps many times before, to get the general idea of where I am hoping to go, and am always successful in finding a place. However, on this occasion: Nope! Negative! It didn’t work!

After spending some 30minutes searching for the place, I found a friendly neighbourhood postwoman who pointed me in the direction of a building. I insisted that the map had identified it on the other side of the park and she insisted that that was the location, although she had never heard of the Pizzeria. I decided to follow the postwoman’s directions, and of course in the window on the ground floor of the building was sign: Bacco Pizzeria Italiana. *sigh*. So! If you’re heading into Duncan village, south of Cross Crossing, it is on your right hand side. Look for the sign “Tres Amigos”; it’s in the same building.

New-to-me Restaurant: Bacco Pizzeria Italiana – FEB 2013 (#8)

Parking was tight at the front of the building but I found out after that additional parking is also available downstairs. In any case, I still made it in good time as the lunch rush had not arrived yet.

Upon entering, the inside has a comfortable, friendly, casual dining, seating area along each of the sides, and an area in the back where you can sit and eat by the kitchen or to wait for takeout orders.

Inside Bacco Pizzeria Italiana

Inside Bacco Pizzeria Italiana

I was seated, given a menu and told of that day’s lunch special: the Margherita (Tomato, Mozzarella, Oregano) and a can of Coke, for $50TT. 

The amount of different choices and combinations were endless. AND you also had the option to create your own pizza! I sat for over 10mins, reading through the menu and trying to decide what combination to try or what I felt for. I finally decided on the Margherita special, with the addition of Mushrooms and Olives.

I also inquired about their variety of drinks was told there were some juices and soft drinks available, as well as fresh smoothies could be made. My waiter suggested the strawberry and banana smoothie so I had to give it a try! Delicious!

6058b-006-img-20130221-00522

While waiting for my Pizza to arrive, I took a walk into the bar-like area, by the kitchen. Along the wall, chalkboards advertised other things besides Pizza that were available – for example: calzones, salads and pastas among other things; other choices to try when I next visit. 

I was able to watch the gentleman behind the counter (in the kitchen area) as he prepared my order and placed it in the wood-fired oven. Very Cool!

New-to-me Restaurant: Bacco Pizzeria Italiana – FEB 2013 (#8)

Wood-Fired Oven

Wood-Fired Oven

The family sitting next to me then got their order. The Pizza was very big, so for one person, I clearly had not done my homework.   That’s okay! Now my dinner and breakfast in the morning would also be covered!

They ordered the ‘capricciosa’ which includes: Tomato, Mozzarella, Italian Ham, Artichokes, Anchovies, Mushrooms and Olives (which they asked for on the side). It looked delicious.

CAPRICCIOSA

CAPRICCIOSA

And then my Pizza was ready! In less than 10 minutes from me giving the order, my pizza was infront of me. Oversized, Piping Hot and Appealing! Yum! The pizza was delicious and all I could think was “WOW, and imagine if I had chosen one of their specialty pizzas?” (which I must do another time!)

MARGHERTIA with Mushrooms and Olives

MARGHERTIA with Mushrooms and Olives

I am so glad I chose Bacco Pizzeria Italiana to satisfy my Pizza craving. That it did; satisfy all my taste buds. And as it was my first time visiting, it also was able to satisfy the “New Restaurant each Month” item on my 30 Things in 2013 list.  

One main thing that should be noted was that at the time I visited, I was advised upon closing the bill, that it was a cash-only establishment. So be sure you check your wallets first! Luckily I had visited the bank the day before.   My overall experience was 4 stars out of 5.  I can’t wait to go back and try more of their combinations.

–  And to Google Maps… for the first time, you have let me down! 
To the friendly, helpful postwoman, I hope you’ve had a chance to experience their delicious pizzas. If not, you really should!

When I came back into the office, I did re-read the article and yep, it does mention “located in the same complex as Tres Amigos”.
I really need to learn how to read properly, especially in all my excitements! *lol* 

 

