Today, 28thJanuary 2013, marks 200 years since the first publication of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

 Happy Anniversary! 😀

Although not a die hard or semi-obsessed fan, I have always been a fan of this novel, so reading and hearing this headline this evening, brought back memories of the book, the many different made-for-tv shows, as well as the many different versions of this Jane Austen’s classic.

I know I have not watched all of the different renditions, but ones like Colin Firth’s or Kiera Knightly’s versions, or even Jane Austen’s Book Club, Austenland and the Bridget Jones Diaries were many a part of my growing-up years. Some versions were following the book, while others played on the different many relatable characters and themes throughout the book.

I sometimes wonder if I, like many a young girl out there, is waiting for that perfect one to come into my life. I wonder sometimes if without these novels, without the thought (or hope) of my Mr. Darcy, would things be different in my life right now…

Anyways, while spending a good deal of time searching the web this evening, reading articles and ‘related searches’, I came across this site: “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries: an online adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice“!  And I am loving it!!

It is a version of this novel using modern technology and social media, for example Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr as well as a Video Blog expressing the everyday ongoings of Lizzie Bennet, her family, and the main characters from the novel. I’m still trying to get up-to-date with all the postings and episodes, but I am having a great time catching up.

