Tags

, ,

My 30 Things in 2013 list includes items that I think are good for me, things that should be done, and of course things that I want to do. I’m very excited about item #4: “Be a Local Tourist in Trinidad/Tobago”.

Yes. I am blessed to live on an island – Trinidad to be exact. Tourists pay hundreds of dollars to visit every year and I live here. However, I, like many people everywhere, tend not to take full advantage of the fact that there are many things to see and many adventures to do in my own back yard. This action is mainly because of work or the lack-of-allocated-time.

This is something I talk about all the time, and really want to work on remedying this year – enjoying the island; being a tourist; visiting places I only seem to enjoy when other friends/family visit; visiting and exploring new places that I always hear about but have yet not gotten the chance to visit.

Yesterday I started on this item. I was invited to visit with some friends who were spending the weekend down south of the island, in the seaside town of Mayaro. It is a place where many locals visit throughout the year, and I have done this drive before and do enjoy it greatly.

I, however, have never done this drive to be able to see the grand sunrise that many people talk about.

As I wasn’t able to drive down to meet them until Sunday, I decided to make the most of the day, and take the opportunity to see this magnificent scene. Waking up at 5am, and out of the house at 5:30am allowed me to have a smooth, quiet, no-traffic drive, down the coastal route to Mayaro.

 Here are my photos of this beautiful and peaceful drive. Enjoy!

